
 

Application Form 
2016 – Lewis & Clark County Burn Permit 

(Permit good until December 31, 2016) 
__________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

For a New Permit please complete the following section: 

 

Please Print: 

 

First Name: __________________________ M.I. ___ Last Name: ___________________________ 

 

Mailing Address: __________________________ City: ____________ ST: MT   Zip: ___________ 

 

Phone Number:(____)-_____-______                 Insurance Company: _______________________ 

 

Address for primary burn location:  Same as mailing address?   Yes    No 

 

Burn Address: _________________________ City: ____________ ST: MT     Zip: _____________ 

 

At least one phone number is required. 

 

Emergency Phone Number for Burn Location: (_____)-______-_______ 

 

 

To renew an existing permit, please note any changes you wish made in the section above and 

enter your permit number here: ____________________ 

 

You must read and agree to the following terms and conditions before purchasing a burn permit. 

Montana Code Annotated  

 MCA 7-33-2205 & 2206 deal with the fire seasons and permit requirements. Violations under those 

codes are a misdemeanor with fines possible up to $500 and/or 6 months in jail. Average fines are 

approximately $285. 

 If a person burns in a manner that is unsafe, damages property belonging to another, or places anyone in 

danger of injury or death, the Arson laws apply. Negligent arson, MCA 45-6-102, can be either a 

misdemeanor or felony, depending on the circumstances. Misdemeanor charges can cost up to $500 

and/or up to 6 months in jail. Felony charges can cost up to $50,000 and/or up to 10 years in prison. 

 In all cases, restitution can be ordered separately from the criminal fine. Restitution may include but are 

not limited to paying damages to other property owners and paying for the firefighting resources. 

What responsibilities am I assuming when I light my burn?  

1. Fires shall not be ignited when current and anticipated weather, wind and other conditions make it 

hazardous to do so. 

2. You must have enough water, hand tools/equipment, and people to keep your fire under control. 

3. You are responsible for all suppression costs and damages caused if your burn escapes your control. 

4. If you do not activate your permit before burning, the Fire Department may be dispatched to your fire 

even though it is under control, and you will be cited. 

5. Burn permit must be accessible at the burn location. 



6. Someone must remain with the fire until it is completely out. (No smoke or hot embers present) 

7. Permission to burn may be revoked at any anytime, due to weather conditions.  

8. That you will abide by all permit requirements. 

9. Between September 1 and November 30, by activating your permit, you certify you have complied with 

the Ventilation Hotline.  

10. Between December 1
st
 and March 1

st
, by activating your permit, you certify you have an approved 

Montana Wintertime Open Burning Request AND permission from the Montana Department of 

Environmental Quality (MDEQ) meteorologist to burn that specific day. 

What can I legally burn?  

1. Natural vegetation is the ONLY thing that your burn permit allows you to burn. 

2. You are not allowed to burn prohibited materials as outlined in the Montana Department of 

Environmental Quality’s (MDEQ) air quality regulations found at ARM 17.8.604. This includes, but is 

not limited to buildings, asphalt shingles, campers, garbage, railroad ties, plastic products, paper 

products, cardboard, manure, dead animals, etc. 

When can I legally burn?  

1. The burn season continues all year round but there are three periods of the season each having different 

requirements.  

a. March 1
st
 to August 31

st
 – you only need an L&C County burn permit which is required to be 

activated each day you burn.  

b. September 1
st
 through November 30

th
 – in addition to an L&C County burn permit (which 

needs to be activated each day you burn), you must ALSO
 
call the Montana Department of 

Environmental Quality (MDEQ) Ventilation Hotline at 800-225-6779 prior to burning. You 

may only burn if both systems allow burning that day.  

c. December 1
st
 to March 1

st
 – burning is restricted to only those burns considered ESSENTIAL. 

You need an L&C County burn permit, a MDEQ air quality permit (called a Montana 

Wintertime Open Burning Request), and you must activate your permit each day AFTER 

getting permission from MDEQ’s meteorologist for burning on that specific day.  

2. Due to weather or other applicable conditions burning may be closed on any given day. If burning is 

closed you are prohibited from burning in Lewis & Clark County and the website and automated 

phone system will prevent you from activating your permit. 

I have read and agree to the above terms and conditions: 

Signature: ______________________________________ (Required) 

 

The fee for a new permit is $8.00. 

The fee to renew and existing permit is $5.00 (Make sure you include your old permit number) 

 

Please remit your check or money order to: 

 

Lewis & Clark County Treasurer 

Attn: Burn Permits, Room 113 

316 North Park 

Helena,  MT  59623 

 

 

Make check or money-order payable to:  Lewis & Clark County Treasurer 
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